A Quick and Cloudy Trip to the Water Park

Yesterday was a blazer: sunny and muggy and sweaty. It was the perfect kind of day to go to the water park. Of course today is overcast, hazy, and less muggy and sweaty, and we tried the water park anyway. In Madison’s words, “Oh, yeah, I never go there in a long time.”

It’s possible that this new swimsuit was responsible for at least half of Madison’s excitement over the water park.

I spent the morning doing laundry, as is customary for Saturday morning. I also watched Northwestern blow a double-digit lead and lose to Penn State. That nuked my parlay, also a Saturday morning custom. Madison’s known for a couple days that we were going to the water park, as long as it didn’t rain. In retrospect, Madison woke up too early. She was up by 8, had breakfast by 8:30, and was in her swimsuit by 9. Well, Wet and Wild doesn’t open until 10:30. It must have felt like the longest hour of Madison’s life. She turned on the iPad and watched Disney Junior. At least she had the good sense not to ask me to watch the TV. Weekends are for football, Goob.

I think she figured out how to use the sides of the slide to launch herself because she was flying today.

The park was pretty empty this morning. I suppose there are any number of reasons why. I’m going to guess college football, youth sports, the weather, the beach, MLB playoffs, and the mall. Honestly, we’re going to Pearlridge in the afternoon just to get out of this gross humidity. Well, yeah, Madison’s had difficulty displaying any kind of patience for the past couple of months and today was no exception. As soon as we got within sight of the kids’ zone, she put the phrase “I want to go in the water already” on a loop, then ran it back over and over. She just stood there looking longingly at the water reiterating “I wanna to go in the water already.” “Hey!” I snapped. It broke the loop. “You need to be patient!” I said. “Look! You haven’t even taken your dress off yet!” I continued. And then she pulled her dress off over her head in a single instant. It was the fastest I’ve ever seen her pull off a coordinated movement, including running into the living room, hurdling a pile of laundry, then diving at me for a snack. She loves the water park. She’s going to be pissed when she finds out we’ll be taking a 6-month hiatus from the park once our annual passes expire on December 31, 2012.

Both Lynnette and Madison hate this. I love it.

My Fall Break has started. I’ll have the next week off from classes before the start of the second quarter. I say this every year, but man, this year is flying by. As I’ve mentioned before, this is the first time since I’ve been a teacher at Damien that we’ve scheduled in a Fall Break. It used to be a pretty damn tough stretch from mid-September to Thanksgiving.

I’m just glad that maybe this week will mean more time with my family. I spent Tuesday and Wednesday in my classroom until about 6:30 in the evening because I was trying to grade as much as possible before break. I’ll have roughly 40 essays to grade this week. The plan is to clean the house during the day, then grade papers at night. That doesn’t sound like a lot of family time, but it does leave the afternoons and hopefully the entirety of next weekend. You know, more water parking.

Lynnette was “acclimating” herself to the water’s cool temperature. This process lasts for roughly half-an-hour.

And really, I hope the weather is better next weekend. It was overcast this morning and got even worse as noon approached. I think we had only been in the water for an hour and a half before Madison came up shivering. “Is it time to go?” I asked. “N-N-N-N-No!” Madison said. Five minutes later, she looked up at me and said “Dad, I think it’s time to go.” On the bright side, I did upgrade my pass to the Gold Card, which means I will never have to pay for parking again. Well, until the end of this year, when Madison will hear the phrases “expired already,” “too expensive,” and “I think the Water Park went out of business, but might be back in business in July.”

You know what’s coming, don’t you?

GUYS’ COLUMBUS DAY!

Leave a Reply

