Clouds, Rain, Sand, Mud, Sunflowers

After watching five episodes of Mad Men last night, Lynnette and I resolved to spend today in Haleiwa and nearby areas playing tourist and taking pictures. Sadly, the weather didn’t want to cooperate. Since we lacked a Plan B and possessed a desire to stay away from any and all malls, we pressed on with out plan despite the gray skies and wetness.

The rain confined itself to the mountains and we were able to take a few pictures near the Haleiwa Boat Harbor. The thing that I love the most about this picture is that I somehow managed to use Madison as a shield to block the teenage couple that was "wrestling" on the shore. I don't know if there's a thing as "erotic wrestling." If there is, that's what it was. If there isn't, then I'm glad to have invented the term. Anyway, Madison stood atop the rock wall and wanted to look out at the horizon where the gray sky met the gray ocean. Instead, I kept yelling for her to turn and face the camera. Well, she did alright, and this is the face she threw up. It's cute, I know, but I also know this is just the precursor to more vocal and violent protests which will come as she ages. This is the kind of picture I imagine throwing into her graduation party slideshow, during which she will - at age 18 - probably yell "No, dad!" I can't wait. Actually, I can.

The rain confined itself to the mountains and we were able to take a few pictures near the Haleiwa Boat Harbor. The thing that I love the most about this picture is that I somehow managed to use Madison as a shield to block the teenage couple that was “wrestling” on the shore. I don’t know if there’s a thing as “erotic wrestling.” If there is, that’s what it was. If there isn’t, then I’m glad to have invented the term. Anyway, Madison stood atop the rock wall and wanted to look out at the horizon where the gray sky met the gray ocean. Instead, I kept yelling for her to turn and face the camera. Well, she did alright, and this is the face she threw up. It’s cute, I know, but I also know this is just the precursor to more vocal and violent protests which will come as she ages. This is the kind of picture I imagine throwing into her graduation party slideshow, during which she will – at age 18 – probably yell “No, dad!” I can’t wait. Actually, I can.

Last weekend while Lynnette and I were sitting in a theater watching the longest music video in the history of mankind which shattered the record for most "facial close-ups of a human while singing," Madison was with Lynnette's aunt and cousins on a girls' night out. The only way she agreed to a girls' night out without Lynnette was with the promise of a pedicure. Aside: Should I be worried that Madison seems to be both high-maintenance AND a shrewd negotiator? The three of us were lying in bed and Lynnette gave it one more shot. "Would you go on a girls' night out if you got a pedicure?" Lynnette then showed Madison a picture of herself sitting in the chair above the tub full of foot water. "Okay, I'll say 'yes,'" she said. And hat's how Lynnette and I were able to watch Les Miserables. Incidentally, that translates from the French into "If you're not into musicals, you will be miserable." Who am I? Phil ValPhil. But so anyway, these are the toes that Madison came home with last weekend. Lynnette's cousins said that the nail girl was going to paint Mad's fingernails blue, too, but the Goob stopped her. Instead, she has a pinkish/purpleish color that bears an uncanny resemblance to the trademarked color of the Disney Princesses.

Last weekend while Lynnette and I were sitting in a theater watching the longest music video in the history of mankind which shattered the record for most “facial close-ups of a human while singing,” Madison was with Lynnette’s aunt and cousins on a girls’ night out. The only way she agreed to a girls’ night out without Lynnette was with the promise of a pedicure. Aside: Should I be worried that Madison seems to be both high-maintenance AND a shrewd negotiator? The three of us were lying in bed and Lynnette gave it one more shot. “Would you go on a girls’ night out if you got a pedicure?” Lynnette then showed Madison a picture of herself sitting in the chair above the tub full of foot water. “Okay, I’ll say ‘yes,'” she said. And hat’s how Lynnette and I were able to watch Les Miserables. Incidentally, that translates from the French into “If you’re not into musicals, you will be miserable.” Who am I? Phil ValPhil. But so anyway, these are the toes that Madison came home with last weekend. Lynnette’s cousins said that the nail girl was going to paint Mad’s fingernails blue, too, but the Goob stopped her. Instead, she has a pinkish/purpleish color that bears an uncanny resemblance to the trademarked color of the Disney Princesses.

To the surprise of absolutely no one, Madison wasn't thrilled about having to travel terrain which made it highly likely that her feet would get dirty. As we walked down the beach towards the shoreline, Madison said "Sand in slippers isn't too nice." That made me laugh out loud. The closest we got to the water was standing on a small rock formation on the shore. Things like this are always sources of ambivalence for Madison. You see, she likes adventure, but she hates having to get dirty. She likes taking risks, but she doesn't like the idea that she might slip and fall into the ocean. So as I walked to the edge of these rocks, I turned and Madison had that face on. The "I totally want to come with, but I'm too scared." So I took her hand and we made it out to the edge of the rocks. I could feel her grip tighten as the small waves approached us. It's nice. Right now, this second, Madison is wearing her long PJs and a plastic tiara. She's telling Lynnette and I about a ball that's taking place tonight. Apparently, all of the Disney Princesses are coming. She's got a pad and a pencil and she's taking orders for food, making a guest list. I don't know how she learned to do things like this, but it is what it is. I assume that someday she won't want to cruise with me so frequently. That's why I don't mind pretending to eat a plastic cupcake and looking at and talking to an empty chair, pretending that a mermaid princess is sitting there.

To the surprise of absolutely no one, Madison wasn’t thrilled about having to travel terrain which made it highly likely that her feet would get dirty. As we walked down the beach towards the shoreline, Madison said “Sand in slippers isn’t too nice.” That made me laugh out loud. The closest we got to the water was standing on a small rock formation on the shore. Things like this are always sources of ambivalence for Madison. You see, she likes adventure, but she hates having to get dirty. She likes taking risks, but she doesn’t like the idea that she might slip and fall into the ocean. So as I walked to the edge of these rocks, I turned and Madison had that face on. The “I totally want to come with, but I’m too scared.” So I took her hand and we made it out to the edge of the rocks. I could feel her grip tighten as the small waves approached us. It’s nice. Right now, this second, Madison is wearing her long PJs and a plastic tiara. She’s telling Lynnette and I about a ball that’s taking place tonight. Apparently, all of the Disney Princesses are coming. She’s got a pad and a pencil and she’s taking orders for food, making a guest list. I don’t know how she learned to do things like this, but it is what it is. I assume that someday she won’t want to cruise with me so frequently. That’s why I don’t mind pretending to eat a plastic cupcake and looking at and talking to an empty chair, pretending that a mermaid princess is sitting there.

She loves chasing birds. She can't help it.

She loves chasing birds. She can’t help it. Yesterday while we were eating dessert at Ward Warehouse, she terrorized the pigeons looking for crumbs. Today in Haleiwa, she walked carefully so as not to soil her feet with sand. Then she saw the birds. Suffice it to say that cleanliness and her conservative mentality went out the window. I can’t remember what movie scene her pursuits remind me of. She shouts and swings her arms and does shuttle runs. The closest thing I can come up with is when Kristen Wiig tries to catch the bubbles on The Lawrence Welk Show.

In truth,

In truth, Lynnette’s priority was finding the sunflower field in Waialua. We did so on the way back home after eating lunch at Stortos and picking up dessert at Paalaa Kai Bakery. Fear not, we won’t be eating for another 6 hours or so. On the way out to Waialua, we couldn’t find the field. As we stood in the bakery parking lot, I saw a bunch of people across the street wandering into an empty field. One of the bakery workers told me that they were there to see the sunflowers. Well, then. So it took some walking and our feet were covered in mud. Also, we somehow ended up on the side of the field that the flowers were shunning. I wasn’t about to talk around it. So we had to settle for these pictures of my beautiful girls and the backsides of sunflowers. It could have been worse. No one got stung by a bee, and no one fell in the mud. That’s a win in my book.

Madison Elyse Pascua Higa.

Madison Elyse Pascua Higa.

 

Leave a Reply

