The Honolulu Museum of Art, February 2013

We attended to our first Family Sunday at the Honolulu Museum of Art today. Apparently, this happens once a month and the theme is always different. Today’s activities centered on the Lunar New Year, so for what feels like the third week in a row, we celebrated the Year of the Snake. I can’t speak for my wife or daughter, but I’m so over the Year of the Snake, unless you’re talking about these. I wish I could quit you, Nike.

In what was an upset on par with

In what was an upset on par with “USA 4, USSR 3,” Madison agreed to the purchase of a t-shirt that A) wasn’t pink, B) Didn’t feature a Disney Princess, C) I actually thought was cool. The red shirt featured a variation of the Super Man logo with “Super Girl” emblazoned above it. I think there are some starts popping out of the logo, too. What the hell? Anyway, Madison only agreed to the shirt because it came with a cape affixed to hit with the help of velcro. She only happened to already have the corresponding skirt. I know what you’re thinking because I’m thinking it, too. We’re going to have to get her those Captain America-style boots.

I supposed I'd have a permanent scowl on my face if people hopped on my back all day, everyday, too.

I supposed I’d have a permanent scowl on my face if people hopped on my back all day, everyday, too.

We arrived at the museum about twenty minutes

We arrived at the museum about twenty minutes prior to opening. Madison popped in and out of those weird structures made of branches which front the museum. She thought it they were the coolest thing and started calling them bedrooms. Each “room” had a different purpose, her favorite being the “pool room.” Apparently, seeing that home with the pool on that episode of Hawaii Real Estate left an impression on her. She hasn’t given up hope of living in a home with a pool. One day, Mad. Anyway, she kept running into areas out of my sight so I had to constantly remind her to stay in an area where I could see her.  It was pretty clam until about ten minutes before opening, then a families started showing up in droves. There were kids running and yelling all over the place. I was relieved when the doors finally opened, it really was getting crowded.

Madison's first craft activity was the creation of this plastic and paper snake.

Madison’s first craft activity was the creation of this plastic and paper snake. I am so proud of her. She sat there at the table threading a string through several plastic cups. Every time Lynnette or I tried to help her, she refused our assistance and insisted on doing it herself. As she sat there with intensity fixed upon her brow and her tiny fingers working away, I marveled at her fine motor skills. I remember a time when she would routinely miss her mouth when eating those star-shaped Graduate puffs. As recently as a year ago, she took 5 minutes to take her own shirt off. Making a plastic snake is great and all, but why the hell can’t she step and throw yet?

I want to call this the second craft that "Madison did," but I think it's pretty clear what happened during the lotus blossom-making.

I want to call this the second craft that “Madison did,” but I think it’s pretty clear what happened during the lotus blossom-making.

I am no archery expert, but I am pretty sure there's no rational reason to shoot an arrow naked and with these particular mechanics other than showing off.

I am no archery expert, but I am pretty sure there’s no rational reason to shoot an arrow naked and with these particular mechanics other than showing off. And not one’s archery skills.

"Madison! Real-life Temple Run!" I said. She saw it and her eyes grew to the size of beach balls.

“Madison! Real-life Temple Run!” I said. She saw it and her eyes grew to the size of beach balls. I know. The cape was perfect for today.

When we strolled through the Japanese exhibit,

When we strolled through the Japanese exhibit, I pointed out some hair accessories like pins, bands, and whatever else they’re called. “For geisha,” Lynnette said. “Yeah, because the Japanese know what it means to be a subservient woman,” I said. Lynnette shot me a look and waved a fist which both seemed to communicate “I would really like to curse at you and/or stick a middle finger at you, but as we are in a cultured environment, I must refrain.” She’s the best. When we came across the exhibit above – traditional tea ceremony stuff – Lynnette said “Look, it’s your favorite.” She’s referring to Karate Kid II, of course. I asked her to pose with the display, and this is what she came up with. There was not an ounce of sincerity in her at this point. “Don’t you ever say I don’t listen to you again,” she said. I answered by whistling the tune from Karate Kid II that plays in the background of the tea scene. Lynnette responded by scoffing. I love her so much.

Leave a Reply

