Madison’s First Hike: The Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail

Everything is fine for the time being, but my body will ache in a few hours. I can already feel my muscles starting to tighten with “Why the hell would you subject us to something like that?” resentment. Lynnette, Madison, and I did both the Great Aloha Run and hiked the Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail today. Right now, Mad’s doing her homework and I’m writing this entry. All of that’s true, except for the part about the Great Aloha Run.

Lynnette's been day-to-day with a stiff neck for the past two days so I've been driving us everywhere.

Lynnette’s been day-to-day with a stiff neck for the past two days so I’ve been driving us everywhere. Today was the first time she drove all weekend, and thank God. We drove all the way out past Sandy’s to the Lighthouse Trail. Since I never came out this way as a kid, and we rarely come out this way now, I always enjoy riding in the passenger seat overlooking the ocean. Lynnette’s always been great about getting my to try new things, to go new places, to expanded the narrow dimensions of my personal box a little. Sometimes she has to be the one to drive to make that happen. I am so lucky to have a wife who doesn’t seem to mind, and even actively attempts to broaden my considerably limited horizons.

During the first few minutes of the hike, Madison was all about it.

During the first few minutes of the hike, Madison was all about it. She was jogging, she was jumping, she asked a lot of questions. We made this first stop on the way up and took the opportunity to take a picture with the ocean and tall grass (and possibly raptors) in the background. “What do you do on a hike?” Madison asked. “You walk to the top of a mountain,” Lynnette said. “Whoa,” Mad replied. During the ride over to the trail, Lynnette asked Madison if she’d be interested in doing the Great Aloha Run some day. “It’s just like the Color Run,” Lynnette said. “But it’s longer.” Before Madison said anything, I chimed in with “Yeah, and without the color.” “I don’t want to do that,” Mad said. Lynnette isn’t related to my mother by blood, but they both have the gift of equivocation.

Honey was napping in my backpack

Honey was napping in my backpack until we hit a high point. Madison wanted Honey to see the ocean, but was afraid she’d drop or lose Honey. I told her that Honey could take cruise in my bag until Madison wanted her. I know the backdrop kind of bleeds into a whiteness here, but Madison was genuinely thrilled to show Honey how high we had gotten. “Careful, Honey,” I heard Madison say as she pointed out the waves and the neighboring peaks. At this point, Madison was still having a great time. That wouldn’t last for much longer.

Lynnette and I have observed

Lynnette and I have observed a certain thrill-seeking behavior in Madison. She likes to jump onto and off of things. Yesterday’s real-life Temple Run at the Honolulu Museum of Art brought her great joy. I think she really enjoyed climbing onto the rocks along the trail today. She knew well enough to know when she needed to hold my hand, but otherwise, she wanted to move around on her own. It was all fun and games until a huge gust of wind nearly tipped her over from this position here. So ended the good times for Madison.

Once we got around the mountain and the wind picked up, Madison had only unkind words for our odyssey.

It was blustery in Mauka when we got up and it sent my nose into a rampage. A monsters-beating-the-shit-out-of-buildings rampage. I don’t know what it is, because my nose was fine during the hike, but now that I’m back home, it’s going batshit again. Is it something in the air from my neighborhood that’s causing me such nasal stress? No idea. All I know is that my eyes are half-shut right now. And sniffling is all I can do to keep the wetness in my nose. Anyway, once we got around the mountain and the wind picked up, Madison had only unkind words for our odyssey. The wind launched little rocks and other debris at her legs which caused them to be itchy which caused Madison to say “I don’t ever want to go hiking again!”

We were lucky we even got this picture. Madison was pretty upset with the wind at this point and insisted on burying her face into Lynnette's neck.

We were lucky we even got this picture. Madison was pretty upset with the wind at this point and insisted on burying her face into Lynnette’s neck.

"I don't like hiking," Madison said on the way back to the parking lot.

“I don’t like hiking,” Madison said on the way back to the parking lot. “This is practice for Disney Land,” Lynnette said. “We can just take an airplane to Disney Land!” Madison said.

On the way up, Madison saw a section of trees with low branches that she was interested in hanging on.

On the way up, Madison saw a section of trees with low branches that she was interested in hanging on. We stopped there on our way down. Lynnette thought it would be awesome to get Madison to sit on one of these horizontal branches. Madison did not agree. Instead of working with Lynnette, Madison straightened her legs out. “Sit on the branch!” Lynnette shouted. “I don’t want to!” Madison called back. It was a hilarious battle of wills. I have pictures. This is one of the less unflattering photos from that set. I can’t wait until this kind of conversation takes place between Madison and Lynnette when the Goob is a teenager. You can leave me out of it. But I’ll take pictures.

Madison's verbal complaints devolved into grunts and odd noises.

Madison’s verbal complaints devolved into grunts and odd noises. “What’s wrong?” I asked. She stopped walking and pointed to her ribs. “I’m sore over here,” she said. My baby’s first run-in with side-pain. It was the cutest thing ever. Look, I know I throw that superlative around a lot, the way I used to throw around “I love her” in college, but it really was so cute. She wasn’t whiny or anything, she was legitimately sore. Lynnette and I took turns carrying her most of the rest of the way down. As we sat at Jack’s Restaurant in Aina Haina waiting for our food, I looked to my girls and said “I hope you two had a great day, because mine was.” Lynnette smiled. “My day wasn’t good,” Madison said. Apparently, however, it wasn’t anything a good bowl of saimin couldn’t fix.

 

2 comments on “Madison’s First Hike: The Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail

  1. […] not qualify as a “hike,” but that’s kind of the point. When we took Madison on her first hike on the Makapu’u Lighthouse trail, she decided she did not like hiking and boldly stated […]

  2. […] began the hike tentatively, like because of her first miserable experience hiking. After our initial climb on loose dirt which evoked several groans and squeals from my princess, […]

Leave a Reply

