More of the Same

“It’s deja vu all over again.” -Yogi Berra

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.” -attributed to Albert Einstein

1Earlier this morning, I happened upon some horrible news in my Facebook news feed: Scott Weiland has been “terminated” from Stone Temple Pilots. I know. Here we go again. The news of Weiland’s “termination” came from Stone Temple Pilots’ official Facebook page. I immediately Google searched for news and found this from rollingstone.com:

Stone Temple Pilots have parted ways with lead singer Scott Weiland. The group announced the decision this morning in a single sentence press release: “Stone Temple Pilots have announced they have officially terminated Scott Weiland.” STP reformed in 2008 after a five-year hiatus and toured heavily through last year. It’s unclear if they plan on carrying on with a new vocalist. 

Since I had four classes this morning, my search for updates has been delayed until now. Weiland has since released a statement from (mtv.com):

I learned of my supposed ‘termination’ from Stone Temple Pilots this morning by reading about it in the press,” Weiland said in a statement. “Not sure how I can be ‘terminated’ from a band that I founded, fronted and co-wrote many of its biggest hits, but that’s something for the lawyers to figure out.

First of all, I am probably one of twenty-four or so people who still care about Stone Temple Pilots. Of those twenty-four people, twenty-four of us know something to be true: it’s not Stone Temple Pilots without Scott Weiland. Should the three members of the band who have seemingly exiled Weiland continue to make music, I hope that they do not A) continue to do so under the STP moniker, and B) become the epicenter of a reality TV show in which the main conflict is the attempt to replace Scott Weiland. If the first happened, I would be irritated. Should the second happen, watch every episode in a mild rage, hoping for failure (i.e. the way I watch the Little League World Series).

WheelerPrized Mets prospect Zack Wheeler was scratched from his Spring Training start yesterday with an injury to an oblique muscle. The team says it’s nothing serious and classified the injury as a “strain” rather than a “pull.” It doesn’t matter either way, I suppose.

Zack Wheeler, along with fellow youngster Matt Harvey, are the main figures in a glorious portrait the Mets have painted of potential future success. While Wheeler was never going to start the season at the big league level, my interest in following the team’s spring games was tied almost solely to his performance. I got up early this past Saturday to watch him throw two innings.

Wheeler’s injury, even if it is as mild as the team claims, is another in the long string of disappointments (some obviously larger than others) which started with a heartbreaking loss the the Cardinals in game 7 of the 2006 NLDS. That Wheeler should get hurt – during batting practice, no less – is utterly disappointing but also sadly ultimately typical of the Mets these past seven years or so. I know it could be worse; it could have been a catastrophic throwing arm injury, I could be a fan of the Astros, but it still stings.

Other than insanity, the Einstein quote suggests a kind of stupidity. I don’t think I’m stupid. It’s not so much that I repeat the same behaviors and expect different results. I do the same things over and over and hope for different results because I have no agency in affecting the outcomes. It’s similar to watching a movie repeatedly and hoping for a different ending in that I have no control, but different from that experience in that a movie is set in stone. There at least exists the possibility that the separate yet parallel paths could change for one’s favorite band and favorite team. It’s not likely, but it isn’t impossible. I choose to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune because though I can’t directly oppose them, it would be pretty damn awesome if they ended.

I get the Berra quote. It’s funny because it’s a repetitious statement about repetition. But to me, it’s mostly funny because it’s true. This isn’t the first time STP has imploded. This won’t be the last time the Mets make me want to facepalm with handful of rusty tacks. As a result, I am sure that you’re almost positive that you’ve read this blog entry before.

Leave a Reply

