A Drive to New Otherton

My attention is going to be divided for the better part of this entry. The second half of the USMNT vs. Mexico match is about to start. It’s Tuesday, but it feels like Sunday, which I suppose is better than yesterday which was Monday, but felt like a Friday. And no, I don’t feel guilty that I’ve got a four-day weekend coming up.

We took a quick jaunt up to Waialua this morning.

We took a quick jaunt up to Waialua this morning. For reasons unbeknownst to me, as I am not a zoologist, the tall grass lining the road was covered in thousands of those little white moths. “Look at all of the butterflies,” Lynnette told Madison. “They’re just babies!” Madison shouted. “The eagles are coming!” I added. My dork reference was met with silence. It was a nice drive out, not exactly sunny, but not completely overcast, either. We felt somewhat obligated to take advantage of the decent whether in light of the impending storms which have been forecast for later this evening. I suppose we have already gotten a taste of the rain as it poured on us on our way back through Wahiawa. The huge, heavy drops didn’t stop Lynnette from making a quick run into Golden Coin for halo-halo. That kind of dedication to a cause is one of the reasons I fell in love with Lynnette.

We made it all the way out to Camp Erdman

We made it all the way out to Camp Erdman. I had always wanted to get a few pictures of the site the Others used on Lost. I had passed by it a handful of times during and after the original airing of the series, but today was the first time we actually parked the car and took a walk around. I am saddened to report that I did not see Alex’s body, Charlotte on the swing set (there was no swing set at all), the motorpool, the smoke monster, or my beloved Dr. Chang. When Madison asked what we were going to do, I explained to her that the yellow cabins used to be inhabited by people called “Others” who did bad things to good guys. “Who lives there now?’ she asked. “Nobody,” I said. Immediately after making this statement, a group of Japanese tourists emerged from one of the cabins with luggage, sleeping bags, etc.. “They live there,” Madison said. “No they- yes, they do, I said.” Sometimes the path of least resistance just makes the most sense.

Our quick field trip ended with lunch at Pizza Bob's. Since I had a pretty decent breakfast, I didn't have it in my to eat my favorite chicken sandwich ever.

Our quick field trip ended with lunch at Pizza Bob’s. Since I had a pretty decent breakfast, I didn’t have it in my to eat my favorite chicken sandwich ever. I settled for a salad and wistfully ate it while thinking about how good the club would have tasted. Madison got her usual as well, a bowl of clam chowder. She also read the menu to Honey while we waited on our lunch. You probably won’t be surprised to learn that all three of us took a huge nap upon returning home. As I type this, Madison is noisily chewing a piece of gum while doing shuttle runs in the living room. Sometimes I almost regret forcing her into a nap, because she recharges in a way that I am no longer capable of. A prolonged nap only makes me feel more tired. Madison, though, wakes from a 2-hour nap at 4:30, and Lynnette and I know there’s no shot she falls asleep before 10.

Two more days of work!

Leave a Reply

