Madison Reviews Restaurants and Tells the Time

I had a softball game on Monday night, I stayed late to grade on Tuesday night. I had a dentist appointment Wednesday afternoon followed by more grading Thursday afternoon. I stopped by CORP on Friday afternoon before heading home. I haven’t spent much time with the girls this week.

It was surreal to sit across from them after having eaten dinner with them just once this week.

It was surreal to sit across from them after having eaten dinner with them just once this week.

I phoned Lynnette on the way home from CORP in order to ask if she wanted me to pick anything up for dinner on the way home. She said she had a craving for Dong Yang. I got excited for a second, then processed her entire statement and realized she was talking about Korean food. Sad.

It was a long week and after I filled my belly with meat jun, my eyelids got really heavy and all I could think about was my bed.

Aside: Madison’s critiques of eateries is getting more sophisticated. Last night at Dong Yang, she immediately stated her preference to not eat there, I assume because of the lack of ambiance. Two weeks ago we hit up the Waipahu Arby’s drive through. I pulled up to the speaker. Everything was fine until I tried to order a drink. “Can I get a medium sprunch?” I said. “A what?” “A sprunch, fruit punch and Sprite.” “We don’t have Sprite.” “Fine, fruit punch and Sierra Mist.” “Oh, like a sprunch?” “Yes.” So we get to the window and they hand me the bag of food and the guy says “Thank you!” “The drinks?” I ask. “Oh!” he says. He passes me Lynnette’s Diet Coke and walks away from the window. A few moments pass before I yell through the opening “Can I get the sprunch?” A girl walks over and makes the drink. She hands it to me and I pull away from the window. I took a sip; it was straight fruit punch. “This isn’t a sprunch!” I shouted. I was pissed because everything took so long. I was on the verge of an expletive-laden tirade when the little voice in the back seat said. “Uhh, I don’t think she was that smart.” I was rolling.

A model of efficiency: checking the time while eating a cheese roll-up.

A model of efficiency: checking the time while eating a cheese roll-up.

I don't know where she picked up the leg crossing thing, but looking at her like this adds three years to her age.

I don’t know where she picked up the leg crossing thing, but looking at her like this adds three years to her age.

Last night Lynnette started gushing about how looking at Madison was like looking at a mini-human. I said that two years ago, but apparently, Lynnette didn’t hear me or didn’t listen. Either way. I assume what she’s talking about is how long Madison looks when she’s laid out in bed. She’s growing physically, but I have to be honest, I’m having more fun with the mental development. She got watch with her Taco Bell kids’ meal this afternoon and I set it for her. I affixed it to her wrist and asked her what time it was. “It’s 1:13!” she squealed. She couldn’t do that a few months ago. Less than ten second later, she looked back at the watch and said “It’s still 1:13!” So maybe she’s not learning too fast.

Half-way through her lunch, she leaned back in her chair and hit this cross-legged pose. She frequently checked her watch as she casually finished her tortilla and cheese dinner. I suppose it shouldn’t surprise me that she flashes so many adult actions since she’s surrounded Lynnette so much. Obviously, I don’t count myself as a member of the adult demographic. Sometimes she does that thing where she reverts to her caricature of a baby when she wants attention. Sometimes she gets clingy when she wants something, but for the most part, she’s eloquent and thoughtful.

Last night I read a story from her Cars storybook. I can do a passable impression of Fillmore, the VW van (just start every sentence with “Hey, man,” and try to sound super-stoned). As I was reading the story, I tried to do a Chick Hicks voice. “Do the voices!” Lynnette shouted. “Yeah, yeah!” Madison added. I didn’t really want to, but Mad really wanted it. I did Sally in Lynnette’s voice. It’s the same voice that every guy uses when they imitate their girlfriend/wife. I tried to do Owen Wilson’s slow drawl, but I couldn’t really pull that off. Not that Madison cared. I could see the gears behind Mad’s eyes move as I read the story. She smiled at funny points and got excited as the race wore on. One day soon, she’s going to read me bedtime stories.

Leave a Reply

