The Beginnings of Summer 2013

Summer’s here.

At least Mad picks quality places once in a while.

At least Mad picks quality places once in a while.

Ice Garden is a pretty solid way to open up summer.

Ice Garden is a pretty solid way to open up summer.

She was so caught up in her phone that she couldn't even make eye contact with me when she flipped me off.

She was so caught up in her phone that she couldn’t even make eye contact with me when she flipped me off.

I had a final half-day at Damien that got home right about noon, just in time to hear my wife belt out a chorus of “I’m hungry,” while getting dressed to leave the house. As we’ll do from time to time, we asked Madison where she wanted to get lunch. Provided she doesn’t just shout “Taco Bell,” we generally seriously consider her suggestions. Yesterday she suggested Shige’s in Wahiawa. Good call, Mad.

After Wahiawa, Lynnette drove us into town on a mission for some kind of shirt on sale at Eden in Love. We found said shirt to be sold out when we arrived, and this would be merely the first time I uttered “Something that could have been brought to my attention sooner,” in the last two days. Weird how that works sometimes. Anyway, since Lynnette struck out with the shirt, we headed to Pearlridge to upgrade her phone.

Lynnette had made some comments about jumping off the iPhone ship but she hadn’t really done any research. When we arrived at the Verizon store, it was only 3:15 or so in the afternoon. I told Lynnette to take her time with the process, to ask questions, and make sure she’s made an educated choice. About thirty minutes in, Madison was bored out of her mind. Lynnette had more or less made up her mind about the phone at that point and all that was left was to do was pay and swap some information. I was supposed to get her 4S, but there was a $150 credit for it, so we took that. I’ll slum it with my 4 for a while longer.

So, Madison was about to rip her own face off and her attention span had waned to the point of being non-existent. I took her to Bath and Body Works assuming that Lynnette would be 15 minutes or so behind me. Mad and I ran into the Arqueros at B&BW, and thank God we did because Lynnette was something like 45 minutes away from walking out of the store with her phone. Later, she would tell me that their system was having difficulty transferring her information. “I hope it’s not a sign,” she said of her choice of the Samsung Galaxy S 4. She loves it. I will simply wait to see how Apple decides to troll its customers with the iPhone 5S or 6 or whatever. We’ll see.

"A baby horse!"

“A baby horse!”

She opted against the double-sided lightsaber. I can't blame her. No, you know what? I do blame her.

She opted against the double-sided lightsaber. I can’t blame her. No, you know what? I do blame her.

We attended a birthday party for one of Lynnette’s cousin’s children early today, and it was exactly the kind of party that Madison loves; lots of things for kids to do, face painting, balloon animaling, and lots of space to run around.

The highlight for Mad was the pony rides. Two horses were present, a small white one, and a larger brown one. Madison rode both, and to my surprise, she wanted to ride the larger horse first. I’m always interested in attempting to read Mad’s face whenever she encounters things like this. Pony rides and things out of the ordinary that excite her elicit one of two opposing responses. For whatever reason, her face is either aglow with the most beautiful smile I’ve ever seen or a very austere veneer of professionalism – as if she’s so excited that she’s embarrassed about it and has decided to try to hide that excitement. Today, she was all smiles.

She got the Thor/She-Ra/Ultimate Warrior face paint almost immediately after we arrived so she wore this look all day. On this hot and humid day, she was sweating pinks and light blues in the afternoon. I wiped a streak of pink sweat that trickled down from her forehead to her nose. “Your paint is running,” I said. “PAINT CAN’T RUN, DAD!” she said. It was too hot to argue. I just dadded up and said “Don’t rub your eyes or you’ll get glitter and paint in there.” “Okay, dad,” she said.

It’s worth repeating: SUMMER’S HERE.

Leave a Reply

