New Restaurant, New Swimsuits

Lynnette and I dropped Madison off at school and headed into town for an appointment. Once that was over, we had breakfast at Lee Ann Wong’s Koko Head Cafe. I want to say that the famous chef is Lynnette’s social media BFF, but that’s putting it too lightly; Lynnette straight up stalks her on social media. It’s alright, we all do it. I follow the Bellas on Instagram, and it makes me feel like a better fan, but also a slightly worse human being.

Cornflake french toast.

Cornflake french toast.

Don buri chen.

Don buri chen.

It’s one of those restaurants that serves innovative takes on old favorites, which makes it difficult for me to order anything with confidence. Like Monkeypod Kitchen, many of the dishes featured a single ingredient which would make me hesitate. In the end, I went with the cornflake french toast for two reasons: 1) I wanted something I could only get there, and 2) I knew I would like the bacon. The dish was actually pretty good, it was a little too sweet by the end of it, but that’s not a knock on the syrup – which was delicious – I am just not a sweets guy. Sweet guy, though. Lynnette’s choice was pretty solid. The the don buri chen is sushi rice, an egg, and pork prepared three ways. The pork belly was incredible, sashimi-like in texture and way it made me press a piece against the roof of my mouth to maximize the flavor.

Any store that allows me to charge my phone while my wife looks around is OK with me.

Any store that allows me to charge my phone while my wife looks around is OK with me.

New suits in the mix!

New suits in the mix!

Our next stop was Ala Moana. Initially, we wanted to exchange a gift Madison received for size. Once we did that, Lynnette fulfilled her destiny by checking into the Kate Spade Saturday store. As has been documented in this space many times, while Lynnette is an equal-opportunity designer handbag acquirer, she’s first and foremost a Kate Spade girl. She took time to explore the store, but exercised some discipline by not picking something up. I was impressed.

Eventually, I asked Lynnette if she would be interested in looking around for a few new bikinis. She’s always taken a pass on this offer, but I laid out a few reasons for her. First, she’s run the once sizable rotation of swim wear she boasted into the ground. “Nah, I still have a few,” she said. That’s when I told her how sad I get when I watch her sit on the edge of the bed with parts of three old bikinis splayed out on the bed. I watch her flip them around like she’s hoping the options will somehow change. She laughed when I mentioned this. Second, we spend a lot of our weekends at the beach or pool. “There’s going to come a time when your go-to suits are in the laundry because we just went to the beach the day before,” I said. She had no comeback for this argument. Unlike her husband, she is firmly against multiple wearings of clothing and flipping garments inside-out. To each their own, I guess. Finally, I reminded her of the fact that I take a lot of pictures of our adventures. “You’re entering Madison territory,” I said. Lynnette laughed. “For Mad, it’s the purple set or the blue set; for you, it’s the white/rainbow or green/red sets. I’ve got options – like six or seven, but you,” I said.

She finally relented and I am pleased to report that Lynnette’s picked up a reversible bikini (now she can literally flip her stuff inside out!) and a black utility top (for which I’ve already thought of looking for Mets bikini bottoms to pair with). I am even more pleased to report that Lynnette modeled her new suits for me. My wife doesn’t always pretend to be a bikini model, but when she does, I CHEE HUU.

Leave a Reply

