Mother’s Day 2014

For reasons that will probably be ultimately blamed on me coaching baseball this season, Lynnette got a much later than usual start on looking for restaurants for Mother’s Day Brunch. While we dream of the Kahala’s Mother’s Day Brunch every year, we generally do that or something extravagant like the Halekulani once every 3 or 4 years. Maybe next year! Anyway, we ended up at Stage this year – it was our second time since starting the whole Mother’s Day/Father’s Day Brunch tradition. There was sirloin off a carving station and made-to-order handrolls, so I wasn’t going to complain at all.

They're so much fun.

They’re so much fun.

I bought Lynnette and Madison matching Cinnamon Girl dresses for Girl’s Day and they broke them out for the first time today. Madison was cute and Lynnette was stunning. Do I some time wish Cinnamon Girl had a small corner of the store named “Cinnamon Boy” that sold aloha shirts and button down shirts in the same material as some of their dresses? Possibly.

Lynnette’s aunt mentioned that she still thinks Madison looks primarily like Lynnette, but that she seems me in Madison’s face more as she gets older. I suppose that possible, but I can’t say. Mad’s just Mad for me, you know? The only change I can comment on with absolute certainty is Mad’s weight and height. She’s not as easy to pick up as she used to be, and her legs and arms are so long. But since she ignores what I say and does whatever she wants, she is still very much her mother’s daughter.

The Kate Spade Saturday Store lets me charge my phone while I wait. Win.

The Kate Spade Saturday Store lets me charge my phone while I wait. Win.

After brunch, we – along with Lynnette’s parents –  decided to walk some of our indulgence off at Ala Moana. Lynnette visited her favorite store – Kate Spade Saturday – with a coupon for 20% off and an itchy trigger finger. Madison, Abby, and I had scrounged together some money to purchase Lynnette a new watch and Kate Spade bag, and I guess Lynnette was going for accessories. While we waited, a sales associate urged Madison to draw a picture on one of their SATURDAY IS ___________ cards. She drew a beach scene complete with shells, an umbrella, a crab, and a sea star. So, if you’re in the Kate Spade Saturday Store, check out the bottom right corner of the wall where the cards are posted. You should see a card that looks like a Kindergartener’s homework featuring the aforementioned details. Anyway, Lynnette walked away with a nice new top to go along with her new casual shoulder bag; her mom got some pretty cool patterned pants. Lynnette’s dad had the privilege of paying, and even he was smiling. The Mets walked off in the bottom of the 9th. Everybody won today.

Can you imagine how much more awesome this picture would have been if I had been rocking a matching long-sleeve aloha shirt? Heh? Heh?

Can you imagine how much more awesome this picture would have been if I had been rocking a matching long-sleeve aloha shirt? Heh? Heh?

I immediately passed out when I got home, but somehow Lynnette did not nap and stayed up to start the laundry. WHAT? IT’S MOTHER’S DAY! Right now, she’s working on coordinating leftovers into some semblance of a passable meal for all three of us. WHAT? IT’S MOTHER’S DAY! I could spend several eternities providing examples which illustrate her proficiency at this motherhood thing, but the ones above do the trick. She never takes days off. After dinner, she and I – but mostly she – will begin the process of putting Madison to bed. Then she and I will watch Mad Men together, and possibly an episode or two of Scandal. And then, might we work on increasing our responsibilities as parents? WHAT? IT’S MOTHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

