We Had a Good Run, Summer 2014

Ideally, I would have liked to spend this weekend erring on the side of the grandiose. I don’t even know what that means specifically, but if you want a quick hitter, those 48 hours should feature sushi, red meat, the ocean, sparklers, ice-cold Cokes, Lynnette in a bikini, a couple of power naps, air conditioning, a musical finale, lots of photos of the majesty, and paradoxically – a solid 9 or more hours of sleep. We didn’t quite get there, but we did what we had to do. Such is life.

Madison's silly faces are the karma that's come in on a huge barge, smiting me for all the photos I ruined from ages 15-27.

Madison’s silly faces are the karma that’s come in on a huge barge, smiting me for all the photos I ruined from ages 15-27.

Our major Saturday errand involved Lynnette picking out a dress to wear at her sister’s wedding. The wedding will take place in Las Vegas in November. Madison’s already planning for her second air plane ride by hoarding warm clothing because she’s been told that it’ll be cold in Vegas. Yesterday was part of the preparation, I suppose.

As Lynnette tried on several dresses, my princess of a daughter decided she wanted in on the action. With Lynnette busy, I accompanied Mad to the small girl’s collection. “I want to wear a long dress, but mom never lets me,” she said. Now, I don’t specifically recall a long dress embargo, so perhaps Madison just uses that line to create sympathy for herself. I wouldn’t put it past her. She tried on a long, frilly dress that she fell in love with. When it came time to pick a color, she went with begonia. We couldn’t get her into a blue/green shade, but we managed to talk her down to raspberry. Thank God.

What if I told you she was more interested in splashing in puddles than helping me wash and dry the car? Would you be shocked?

What if I told you she was more interested in splashing in puddles than helping me wash and dry the car? Would you be shocked?

Madison told me she would help me wash my car, but when it came time actually get to it, she looked up from her iPad and muttered something about “resting.” To her credit, she did pop in as I started drying the car, and she quickly jumped in to help. Her methods are questionable. She claimed she was done when water droplets were easily visible on the side of the car. I’d mention them, then she’d raise her arms and say “Where?” I mean, I know water is clear, but they were right there. Was she trolling me? Believe me, she’s capable of it.

Once she decided she had done a good enough job, she got down to the business of splashing in the shallow puddles of water. She’s always loved doing this, even as a very young girl. I remember when she’d wear those rubber boots that all kids own at some point. She’d being her foot down hard, then the water would fly up. Some of it would find its way into her boot and she’d look down at her feet and mumble some nonsense. It’s all fun and games until you get water in your boot, I guess. I managed to vacuum most of the sand out of the car. The last time Lynnette rode in the Corolla, she said it needed to be cleaned. “Fine,” I said. “As soon as you clean and put away our little tent.” She agreed. Well, the mini-tent is still sandy and salty. A family of daddy-long-legs has taken up residence. I feel it necessary to point this out because had the roles been reversed, Lynnette would be all over me. It is a small victory, but on this day, a few brief  hours before the start of the school year, any win is worth writing about.

OK, 2014-2015 school year. Let’s make it quick.

Leave a Reply

