Fall Break 2014: Lanikuhonua

Madison kept her word and woke up early enough for Lynnette to make her hair. The Goob and I got our things together quickly and headed out to Ko’olina. A thick haze covered Ewa Beach and Kapolei as we drove westward on H1. “It’s a good thing we don’t live in there,” Madison said. “I think I’m allergic to fog,” she continued. One of those statements is correct.

The snorkels would have come in pretty handy today.

The snorkels would have come in pretty handy today.

Maybe the fish can smell the vinegar?

Maybe the fish can smell the vinegar?

After a walk over rocks and through shallow water, we finally made it to the beach behind Paradise Cove. I hope that we’d spot some turtles today, and we weren’t disappointed. Madison quickly fell in love with the beach’s calm and shallow waters. Neither of us had difficulty getting into the water so early in the morning because it was so muggy. Madison quickly made friends with a girl named Madeline. Madeline’s little sister’s name was Abby. You can’t make this stuff up, you know? The four of us waded out to the edge of the sand where the coral and rocks were heavily concentrated. We were surprised that the fish got so close to us, even closer than the fish at Sharks Cove. “They’re swimming through my legs!” Madison shouted excitedly. She was right. The fish seemed to have no problems swimming right up to us, brushing up against our legs, and even – at least this is what it felt like – nibbling at us. Madison says she actually touched a fish with her hand. I am positive we could have scooped an entire bunch of fish just by standing in the same spot.

Sup.

Sup.

I'm surprised I didn't squeal.

I’m surprised I didn’t squeal.

Madison was off playing with her friends as I stood at the edge of the rocky area. I saw movement out of the corner of my eye and turned to see a black blob moving toward me. It took a few moments for my brain to process what was happening (Full Disclosure: I’ve been watching Season 6 of Lost. When I saw the black blob moving in my direction, for the second time in my life, my first thought was F*ck, Smoke Monster. I am an idiot). It was a sea turtle headed straight for me. I placed my camera under the water and snapped away. He kept coming. Having no prior experience with sea turtles, perhaps it would have been wise to protect my privates, but instead, I raised my camera out of the water because it looked like the turtle was going to surface. And he did! It gave me a head nod, took a breath, then went back underwater and took a sharp left turn back toward open waters. No joke, it was one of the coolest things I’ve ever experienced. Maybe it I wasn’t 45% terrified, I would have gotten video of it.

Leave a Reply

