Christmas 2014: The Year of Pokemon

Merry Christmas!

This is how the magic starts.

This is how the magic starts.

Whole lotta Pokemoning going on!

Whole lotta Pokemoning going on!

As usual, my family got together at my parents’ house for our Christmas Eve celebration. It was actually cold enough in my parents’ house that Lynnette felt the need for a blanket. “Whoa, you wanna cover up and watch a movie and mess around under the blanket, just like old times? Merry Christmas to me!” I said. She scoffed. But she accepted the blanket anyway. Sometimes I forget that we’ve been together for over a decade and man, how is that even possible? My family rallied around Pokemon and Madison added a Nintendo DS to her already formidable collection. What does this mean? There are many, many possibilities. First, it might mean Mad and I will play together less. It might also mean that Mad will start looking around Game Stop for games she can play. But, most importantly and most likely, it means you’re going to find me with two DSes on trading Pokemon with myself. Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

I always love the Christmas Eve get-together. It’s basically just laughter and food for 5 hours. That’s hard to beat in any setting. The running joke the last few years has been about the rapid growth of my two youngest cousins, Alana and Ritchie. They’re both in high school now, and possibly their mother is going through a tough transitional period. Of course, that kind of thing is like blood in the water for our family. Every gift Ritchie got was “for the dance,” some fictional social gathering at which Ritchie would supposedly mack on fly honeys with his Nike Elite socks and Under Armour. My aunt just shook her head. Alana – a junior – got gifts that would be perfect for cold weather. “That’ll be perfect in New York!” we all say. Alana wants to attend college there. Her mom? Not too thrilled.

"It's all the Kanto starters, dad!"

“It’s all the Kanto starters, dad!”

Coming up clutch.

Coming up clutch.

An alarm clock and (more importantly) yet another place to charge my phone!

An alarm clock and (more importantly) yet another place to charge my phone!

We got up super-late this morning. Madison found Santa’s milk and cookies to be missing this morning as well as more gifts under the tree.

Santa came through for Madison, bringing home that Pokemon visual companion that she had been so hot about. It was the one she wrote a letter to Santa about back on Saturday.

I also sent her a letter as Professor Oak. It contained the clues for a Pokemon scavenger hunt. Charmander was hiding in the oven, Squirtle was cruising in the washing machine, and Bulbasaur was sleeping in the blankets with leaves and grass print. You see what I did there, right? Anyway, she was so excited that she could barely read the letter. I addressed the envelope to “Madison Higa, Pokemon Trainer” and listed the return address as “Kanto”. Watching her face during the reading and figuring out and chasing and capturing is the very best part of anything I do with my life. It’s not close, either.

Santa stopped off a Tory Burch for Lynnette, coming up clutch with a gold clutch. I guess Santa didn’t have enough room in his bag (or money) for the matching gold shoes, but hey, someone’s got a Valentine’s Day coming up, right?

Santa brought me an alarm clock/iOS docking station. I suspect that Lynnette may have been in Santa’s ear about this because every single day of my life, if I wake up in the middle of the night, I turn on my phone to check what time it is. I don’t have a traditional alarm clock, so my phone is it. The problem is, however, the brightness of my phone irks Lynnette. Sometimes when I check my phone, I can hear groans and half-snores of disapproval from my lifemate. I guess this solves that, but how am I going to check my notifications at 3:31 in the morning? We’ll figure that out, I guess.

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

