Happy Birthday, Grandma! Happy Battleship, Goobi!

Happy birthday, Grandma!

Happy birthday, Grandma!

Our family gathered at Waimalu Chop Suey to celebrate my grandmother’s birthday. “You mean my great-grandma,” Madison said at some point Saturday morning. Yes, Madison. First thing’s first: Waimalu Chop Suey was excellent yesterday. The food was amazing, and the service was wonderful. The food came out quickly, my cup of water was never empty, and they constantly checked if we needed extra napkins, fresh plates, and new utensils.

Grandma sat at a table with her sons and daughters, and the rest of the family split itself between two other tables. Sometimes as I was chewing, I’d turn my head to scope out the rest of my family. I could see smiles, hear the laughter, and of course, appreciate the straight-up demolition of family-style plates of food. I won the lottery the day I was born into this family, and I have never forgotten that.

I found Finding Forrester on Netflix. YOU’RE THE MAN NOW, DOG!

Gorgeous.

Gorgeous.

Lynnette and the Ladies of Creighton held their annual Christmas-New-Year’s-Valentine’s-Day get-together which left Madison and I to our own devices. The Goob and I raced toward Koolina in hopes of watching the sunset. We got there in plenty of time, but there were plenty of clouds, so our viewing pleasure was limited. Mad had a great time launching rocks into the water and running from the shorebreak, though. I sat comfortably on the mat and happily snapped away. We’ll have to go back when Lynnette is with us and the clouds aren’t.

We finished our date night with dinner at Denny’s and the purchase of Battleship from Target. Madison was first introduced to the game at Rainbow Tea House(also incredible yesterday), and has been asking us to pick up one of our own for a while. She and I found the exact same version last night and will probably play this afternoon between sets of laundry and vacuuming, and also the Royal Rumble.

Leave a Reply

