Spring Break 2015: Monday

I got up early and made Lynnette breakfast. I fought the urge to pull Madison from bed in hopes of an early start. It’s hard for me to let the morning hours pass by, even if I know the water at the beach is going to be too cold for us to do anything in anyway. Still, I finished the laundry, tried to finish The Wolf of Wall Street (didn’t get there), and tidied up before Mad emerged from the bedroom.

She was totally uninterested in going underwater.

She was totally uninterested in going underwater.

We agreed on the beach on Sunday. It seemed like a solid idea. The sun was ablaze in Halawa during my softball game; I would have killed someone to have been able to jump into the ocean immediately following the high-five line. Anyway, it was sunny when we left the house and warm outside. It didn’t matter.

“It’s cold” Madison said when she put her feet into the water. There’s always an adjustment to be made when Lynnette and Madison complain about temperature, especially the cold. I simply assumed Mad was complaining because at 6-years old, this appears to be her default setting. No, it was cold. I got knee-deep and didn’t want to go any further. It was cold in the way that you think about what it would feel like to get your entire body into it, and the thought itself gives you chicken skin. The cloud cover didn’t help.

That's one way to do it, I guess.

That’s one way to do it, I guess.

Madison endured 20 minutes of water play before the arctic temperatures got the best of her. “Sit in the sand. It’s warm,” I said. Mad plopped herself down and started to cover her legs with sand. “Can you bury me, dad?” This was the best idea she had all day. I quickly dug a pit to accommodate her. She couldn’t stop laughing when her body disappeared under the sand. Her “armor” kept cracking as a result, though. “Stop laughing,” I said. “I can’t help it,” she said. Then, when she stopped laughing and her “armor” continued to crack. “Stop breathing,” I said. “Dad, I can’t do that!” She still takes me literally. She’s the best.

Random note related to Madison being the best: On our way to the park Sunday I told her that she was the reason Lynnette and I managed to overcome our differences in the early years of our marriage. “You’re the reason mom and dad didn’t get divorced,” I said. “You guys were gonna get a new horse?” she said. Lynnette and I were in hysterics. I had to stop in the middle of the road because my eyes were shut from laughing so hard. Rightfully thinking that we were laughing at her, Madison shouted from the back seat “WHAT DID YOU SAY? THE MUSIC WAS TOO LOUD!!!”

Well, Madison loved being covered with the sand. She said it was warm. She pretended she was in a Pokemon egg. For 10 minutes I asked her if she was coming out, and for 10 minutes she responded that it wasn’t her time to hatch. When she finally did, she was coated with a second skin of sand. “Better go rinse off,” I said. “Where?” she asked. I think she was playing dumb. She didn’t want to get back into the water.

I’m torn. On the one hand, I love the current weather. It’s chilly at night and never gets unbearable during the day. I never want it to return to the oppressive conditions usually found during the summer. But on days like today when the sun is out and we find parking at Lagoon 4, the water shouldn’t be ice cold. It just shouldn’t. You can’t have it both ways and that’s why we didn’t last an hour at Ko’Olina. Better luck later in the week.

Leave a Reply

