Opening Day 2015

There’s a putrid Yankees game on ESPN right now and it better not cut the start of the Mets/Nationals one. We’re about 40 minutes out and I’m writing this now because I want to be locked in once it starts.

My new Mets cap makes its Major League debut!

My new Mets cap makes its Major League debut!

Sure, I could have slept in this morning, but that would have prevented me from enforcing the Every Member of My Family Has to be in Mets Gear for Opening Day Rule. Let’s be honest, once I got stirred from unconsciousness, I was too excited to go back to sleep, anyway. This rule as met with some blowback from the girls. Madison wasn’t overly concerned with her Mets shirt. She was more bent out of shape that she (and Lynnette, just to add to the number of the aggrieved) has school today and I don’t. Still she rallied without much problem this morning.

Gotta hydrate for Opening Day!

Gotta hydrate for Opening Day!

Lynnette on the other hand tried to pull stunts last night as she coordinated an outfit for work today. “I don’t have anything that matches!” she shouted. I immediately called bullsh*t because I know for a fact that she’s got more blue clothing than any other color in that walk-in closet of hers. She begrudgingly found a royal blue top which matched perfectly with her beautifully hideous Mets earrings. Her irritation was apparent this morning, however, as my need for pictures of our Mets family seemed to rock the “tight ship” she runs in the morning. Still, she loves me so much that she tossed on her Mets jacket for the pictures and politely waited until work to take it off.

Yay!

Yay!

As an added benefit of not having work today, I was able to have breakfast with my parents – but not before dropping Madison off to school. Mad, you were great this morning. In addition to wearing our family crest to school, unbeknownst to you, you are also wearing bad boyfriend repellent. That’s right. Any boy who is put off by a Mets t-shirt is surely not good/smart enough to hypothetically date my daughter two decades from now. We’re just sending up the flag early.

METS IN 2015!

Happy Opening Day!

Happy Opening Day!

Leave a Reply

