The Official “Madison is 7” Birthday Celebration

Today began with the official celebration of Mad’s birthday.

The guest of honor!

The guest of honor!

Lynnette made reservations for breakfast at the Waikele Country Club. She’s great at planning things like this. She scours the internet looking for affordable menus. She considers things like the parking situation, usual traffic patterns, and oh, is there a bubble drink place located nearby? Of all the wonderful things she took care of, the most impressive might have been finding such an inexpensive Oshawott cake. The dessert featured two layers of cake, two layers of ice cream, and enough frosting to send Madison into a sugar-induced frenzy which saw her stalk the country club lobby for family members to scare as they exited the restroom.

All three are extremely hard-headed.

All three are extremely hard-headed.

Lynnette’s internet research also revealed that the Bishop Museum would be waiving admission fees today, so that’s where we went after breakfast. It was a great opportunity to check out the dinosaur exhibits. The last time the dinos were around, I kicked Madison in the face.

Funny-because-it’s-true story: Madison was telling us about three books on dinosaurs that she read at school. She started naming a few and impressing me in general. “One of my favorite dinosaurs is called Pachycephalosaurus,” I said. Madison said that she did not know that one. “Well, it’s got this huge bony head that it uses as a ram to hit things. Imagine it wants to eat a coconut. It just runs at the tree, bangs its head into the tree trunk until the coconut falls down,” I said. I have no idea if this true, but it seemed like the best way to illustrate the gist of its abilities. “Wow!” Mad said. “Yeah, and it’s one of my favorites because it reminds me of your mom,” I said. Lynnette already knew where this was headed (pun intended, alright). “Just like mom, it’s really hard-head.” When we finally hit the exhibit, wouldn’t you know it? Pachycephalosaurus was cruising there with T-Rex and Triceratops. “That’s him, Mad!” I said. She was impressed. So much so, she coordinated this picture of the three of them.

Comfort first!

Comfort first!

Birthday Note: Madison and I have already cashed in the Memory Foam Shoes of Our Choice coupons Lynnette gave us for our birthday. Madison picked these snazzy Mets royal blue strappy sandal things (I have no idea what they’re called and Lynnette’s in the other room, alright?). “It feels like walking on two pillows stacked on top of each other,” she said.

As for me, I bought the black/lime version of the most comfortable shoe I own, the Flash DNA. Look, as a former Nike addict, it brings me no pleasure to rock Skechers – except it does! These shoes are so damned comfortable! As I laced up my black pair for the first time, I looked up at Lynnette and said “This is just like when I used to be SB Dunks over and over, but in different colorways.” Well, kind of like it.

Regulators! Mount up.

Regulators! Mount up.

My parents and brothers and sister-in-law bought Madison and I scooters for our birthdays. Somehow, they found a scooter with a weight limit of 220 pounds, so yeah, I’m good, and if I want to, I can haul 25 pounds of cheeseburgers and still be safe. The handlebars are a little low, so they built it for heavy kids, not heavy adults. Whatever. All I know is Madison and I broke in our scooters tonight with an anything-but-routine trip to the mailbox. Lynnette walked Abby while Mad and I led the way with our head lamps usually reserved for hunting sand crabs. The scooter is something I would have never bought for myself, but now that I have it, I can tell it’s going to be fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

