Congratulations Chelsea and Shane!

32Chelsea (Lynnette’s cousin) married Shane, her best friend and the love of her life yesterday. The ceremony was quick and highlighted by the couple’s personally written vows. I was struck in particular by how much care each of them took to craft them, how willing they were to deconstruct their entire relationship in the middle of a church filled with family and friends. They referenced good times, alluded to bad times, and specifically mentioned in-jokes. It looked as if they were sharing several in-jokes together as they stood there promising each other eternity. That was my favorite part. They’ve known for so long; yesterday was just the making it official.

Chelsea,
Years ago, Lynnette and I emceed your high school graduation party. We sucked. I know. Anyway, I don’t know if you remember, but after the party, you mentioned an observation you had made of Lynnette and me. You said you couldn’t hear what we were saying to each other, but it looked like we spent the entire time saying things specifically to make the other smile or laugh. I asked you if Lynnette had always done that. You squinted your eyes and shook your head. That always stuck with me because I never noticed it myself. But you’re right. When you see it, it’s bright as day. You’ve always treated me like family and now I want to say congratulations because I see the exact same thing between you and Shane.

Shane,
Welcome to the family! You’re one of the most genuine people I’ve ever met and you’re a comic book guy. I’ve known Chelsea for a long time and the happiest stretch in her life started started when she met you. Thank you for that.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that you both somehow found each other in this hectic world because the two of you are kindred spirits: honest, genuine, and kind. People with full hearts are drawn to each other. Thank you for allowing us to share in your wonderful day. Thank you for including Madison in the festivities, allowing her to reprise her role as The Most Serious Flower Girl in the World™. We wish you the best of everything that all your tomorrows have in store for you.

Love,
Phil, Lynnette, and Madison

Leave a Reply

