The Higa Fam at Full Force

They’re home!

1The doctors, nurses, and support staff at Kapiolani were amazing. Lynnette and the twins were well taken care of every step of the way, so I hope they don’t take this the wrong way: I hope I don’t see them in a professional capacity for a very, very long time. I thought Lynnette was going to give birth on Sunday night. I thought we’d leave Tuesday. Obviously, the twins had different ideas about this timeline. As you can imagine, I am ecstatic at the thoughts of showering in my own bathroom, sleeping in my own bed, and eating not hospital food. We left the hospital at 1 this afternoon and boy, was Abby thrilled to see us at the bottom of the stairs.

23In fact, Abby was so excited to see Lynnette and me that she didn’t even seem to notice the two new bundles of Higa I toted upstairs in their car seats. Then, Cole started making some noise. Abby’s ears perked up and she followed closely as Lynnette removed Cole from his car seat. Abby sniffed Cole from head-to-toe and somehow didn’t bother to lick him. I called Abby over so she could sniff Avery. Eventually, Abby got brave, going for licks of baby feet and toes. To no one’s surprise, Abby is extremely interested in both twins during feeding time. Abby has already tried pirating formula from her perch atop the couch.

4Finally, Lynnette got her plate lunch. She just inhaled a teri-beef plate from L&L. This was to make up for the Diner’s ter-beef plate she missed on Monday night. She thanked me and praised my choice of dinner repeatedly during her devouring sesh. She earned it and then some.

5This is our first full-family picture. When things calm down a little, I hope to take many more. Maybe some taken before we eat. Maybe some where Lynnette is wearing makeup, she says. I don’t know what the future holds, but I’m going to guess that it’s going to be a series of roller coasters that actually make up one big roller coaster that will run the emotional gamut nearly every week.

I want to take this time to thank our family and friends who stopped by at the hospital to visit us. Thank you for the wonderful company and assistance. We appreciated all of it greatly. You brought us food and news from the outside world. Huge.

Finally, I want to thank everyone who follows this blog, and/or Lynnette and I on Facebook and Instagram. When I was a young adult, I had a difficult time accepting the fact that time pulls people in the direction of their own lives. I was young and wanted to hang out, to party forever. It was all I knew. Then I thought about my parents. I realized that they rarely saw their friends while my brothers and I were growing up. They made our family their lives. I understand now. We all have responsibilities. There’s always another practice or game or recital or picnic or party to drive to. That being said, the outpouring of support for our family online has been tremendous. Lynnette specifically remarked that she’d never seen anything like that happen to her. About an hour after I posted Cole’s picture online, I knew I would never get to everyone personally. So thank you all so much for taking a few minutes out of your day to celebrate with us. We appreciated the well-wishes, kind words, and the insane amount of emojis.

Leave a Reply

