Cole at 4 Months

Today is Cole’s Monthday. He’s 4 months old. I’ve acquired a copy of a pamphlet entitled Milestone Moments, which outlines some of the development we should be seeing in our twins along a timeline. I’ll be referencing this document to describe Cole’s current state.

3.jpg

Cole throwing up the Bullet Club sign.

Social/Emotional: Likes to play with people and might cry when playing stops. When it comes to Cole, we can just draw a line straight through the word “might” in the previous statement. He loves playing, being held, and having people whisk him around the landscape (or living room). Should those people try to put him down, Cole’s mood turns sharply and he becomes fussy. He often begins crying. This is when I poke him in the chest with my finger and remind him to be strong in the heart. This technique appears to work less and less as Cole learns that being strong in the heart does not equate to people toting him around like a chubby lap dog in Walmart.

Language/Communication: Babbles with expression and copies sounds he hears. Cole doesn’t babble nearly as much as Avery does, but he is a pretty solid mimic. If he’s in a good mood, he can do a decent version of the word “hello” if I speak it to him first. I get that it’s confirmation bias, that he could string any two syllables together and I’d hear “hello,” but there are times when it really does sound like he’s saying hello. I’ve tried to catch this interaction on video, but it’s never worked out. Also, I am not so proud about the way I sound when I say hELlo in a voice 88 octaves higher than my normal tone.

Cognitive (learning, thinking, problem-solving): Recognizes familiar people and things at a distance. I’ve been staying at work late in an attempt to get all of my work done before Spring Break starts because it’s going to be the tag team of Madison and me up against the twins for nearly two weeks. Anyway, when I get home from work and arrive at the top of the stairs I usually shout something. Maybe a “daddy’s home!” or “OH MY GAWD, THAT’S PHIL HIGA! WHAT’S HE DOING HERE?!” Either way. Everyday, Cole hears my voice and turns to face me. We have a stare-off until he cracks even the tiniest smile, then I’ll shout “CHUBBY BOY!” and point at him. He breaks out a huge smile and kicks and jerks his body around. It’s just about the best welcome home ever. It’s light years ahead of the time I got home and Lynnette told me I had to unclog the toilet of one of Mad’s anaconda turds, but just a tick behind when Lynnette used to welcome me home by dancing to Ratt’s “Round and Round” in lingerie on couch back in the day. Okay, that never happened, but oh, man, if it ever did.

Movement/Physical Development: Pushes down on legs when feet are on a hard surface. Cole’s been doing this for a while. I  often pick my Chubby Boy up under the arms and lean back to lay on the carpet. I hold him upright and rest his feet on my stomach. He droops his head down and makes eye contact with me. He smiles and shows his love by blowing spit bubbles. Still, I remain terrified that he’ll baby bird me, so I never hold him in a way that places his mouth directly above mine.

He’s also started doing this other thing which is my favorite thing. I first noticed it when I changed his diaper. He’d make eye contact with me, smile or smirk, then lazily lift one leg before letting drop again. I didn’t think anything of it until I saw him do it again – but from the bouncer. I’ll plop myself down right in front of him and sometimes our eyes meet. Sometimes he’ll pop that leg out at me. If he’s feeling frisky, he’ll wave it around at me. I laugh every time. It’s like he knows I can’t resist it. Worst case for him is I start jabbering away; the best case is I pick him up. See for yourself. How could anyone deny this jelly leg flopping around at them?

Leave a Reply

