The Busiest Time of the Year

1

Bullet Club!

Based on what’s been going on recently, we aren’t very far away from having to re-erect the baby gate, that oppressive bane of my existence. Neither of the twins can crawl yet, but they must be right on the cusp. Here is a list of the nonsense they’re starting to get into:

  1. Rolling over multiple times to make their way off the edge of the blanket in the living room.
  2. Using their arms to pull themselves closer to the bouncer.
  3. Nibbling on the metal frame of said bouncer.
  4. Using their legs to push off the side of the couch, bouncers, and play pen.
  5. Rolling onto each other for pinning combinations.
  6. Pulling the pillows and blankets off the bouncers.
  7. Trying to flip, bounce, and slide themselves out of the bouncers.

It’s a super-fun game. I place Cole and Avery in the center of the blanket, then turn away for a few minutes. I never know what I’m going to see when I look back! Sometimes they’ll be a few feet apart. Sometimes, they’ll be piled up on each other, nibbling on each other’s arms. I’m going to have to stop doing that thing where I just drop all my stuff on the floor and walk away from it.

2

Footwork needs work.

Madison began her 3rd soccer season with i9 Sports and it might be her last. We’ll probably have to start looking into more competitive leagues shortly. But, for this final season, I’m already thrilled because Madison was assigned to a team with a good coach. We got unlucky with coaching during our the first couple of go-arounds, but Mad’s coach for this season is solid. He teaches fundamentals and uses the terminology of soccer. He had Madison doing warm-up exercises for the first time in her life and watching her try to nail the footwork required of them was hilarious. I actually laughed out loud the first time she tried to do the carry-over (moving the the trail leg in front, then behind while running sideways) for the very first time. It reminded me of all the nonsense stretching I hated when I played baseball. Good for her. She’s wearing #9 this season and she’s stoked. “This season I’ll be just like Uncle Matty!” she said. We’re both excited to see how this season plays out. Hopefully she takes another big step forward like she did last season.


This is the most chaotic time of the year for me. It’s the end of the school year for both Madison and me. The final exams are coming and graduation isn’t far behind. This year, one of my best friends is getting married the day before the graduation ceremonies. It’s going to be a hectic 6 weeks or so for us, but the prize at the end of it getting to spend two months at home with a 8-year old and two 6-month old twins. So I have that going for me.

Leave a Reply

