Avery’s First Bling

Some kind of sickness knocked me on my ass this weekend. I rarely get sick – it’s kind of a point of pride – but this was/is a tough one. It prevented me from going to Madison’s soccer game. That alone should tell you about the severity. For you visual learners, I’ve been sneezing and coughing up stuff that looks so surreal Salvador Dali would have fast-tracked me into his apprenticeship program. If he had one.

1

Matchy-matchy!

That said, I only got outside of the house today. I had just enough energy to see Lynnette’s top weekend priority get crossed off the list. She wanted to get Avery’s ears pierced before she was too old to care. We waited a little too long before getting Madison’s ears pierced. If I remember correctly, she was fine until Lynnette started holding her tightly and she figured out that the pointy thing was meant for her. She was like that with needles, too.

 

Avery didn’t stand a chance, though. When Lynnette picked her out of the stroller, she was overjoyed. Avery likes going for rides, but the carseat not as good as the stroller which is not as good as being carried around. When Lynnette fell into the piercing chair, Avery gleefully plopped down on Lynnette’s lap completely unaware of what was about to happen to her.

Well, Avery got over it in about 5 minutes. She stopped crying by the time I paid way too much money to have her ears pierced. I walked outside and looked into her face; she smiled through the tear streaks. “Wow! Pretty ears!” I said. Avery did that thing she always does when she’s too excited: she clasped her hands together in front of her chest and squealed as she tossed her head back. I suppose now it’s only a matter of time before I’m standing in the foyer of a jewelry store with no idea what to buy for three people.

Leave a Reply

