Good News/Bad News

3She’s smiling, so we’ve got that going for us.

The doctors are also hopeful that Avery will need no further surgery despite lingering infections. The plan calls for treating these infections with IV antibiotics. That’s the good news. The bad news? This process is likely to take another four weeks.

I hoped that maybe we’d be able to take Avery home by next weekend, but that’s been shot all the way back to September. Big picture, though – Avery’s off the ventilator, she’s out of isolation, and she’s scheduled to be moved to a regular room sometime tomorrow. Her doctors suggested that we try to have someone present to comfort her as frequently as possible. My mother-in-law has graciously volunteered to stay with Avery during the day, which means my father-in-law will have Cole. I’ll probably stay overnight since I work in town.

You would think that a lifetime of making things up as I go along would prepare me for the extreme improvisation and ad-libbing I’ll be doing over the next month, but man. This might be an all-time test of those skills. As Lynnette said, the best-case scenario is that Avery sleeps through the night and I – or anyone – won’t have to stay overnight. Fingers crossed, breath held.

Again, I want to thank all of you who have shared your time, energy, food, words of encouragement, prayers, videos and pictures to make us laugh, pokestop lures, portable chargers, and gifts. Thank you for standing by us through the most trying time of our lives.

One comment on “Good News/Bad News

  1. Julie Alfonso says:

    Father God I pray for Your healing power to come over this sweet, little, innocent child. Although we have never met and she’s do very far from me, I know you’ve met her and that Your arms are wrapped around her. Give her parents peace in their hearts as they see a miraculous recovery. I ask these things in Your Son’s matchless Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

