Vehicular Firsts

“Oh!” Lynnette said. She was browsing a pamphlet titled “Birth to Boosters”. “What?” I asked. She read from the literature. “Hawaii’s Child Passenger Restraint Law requires children under 4 years of age to ride in a child safety seat. Children 4  through 7 years old must ride in a child passenger restraint or booster seat.” “Oh, wow,” I said. I went to share the good news with Madison.

1Mad was still asleep but it was almost 9. “Read this,” I said, stirring her awake. She could barely open her eyes for the gunk which had crusted over her eyelids. Also, she didn’t have any interest in reading anything. When she finally mumbled her way through the passage, I asked her what it means. “I don’t know,” she said, falling back  – dramatically – to her bed. “Read it again,” I said. She did. “I don’t have to wear booster!” she said with her eyes closed. “But what does that mean?” I asked. “I don’t know, dad,” she muttered. “It means you can ride in the front seat,” I said. Her eyes shot open. She smiled.

Twenty minutes later, she was my co-pilot on the way to pick up breakfast. It was nice. We’ll no longer have to shout at each other to have conversations in the van. This will also make it much easier for us to communicate as she’s playing Pokemon Go for me. The rare win-win!

We purchased a stroller for a single rider yesterday. The one we had been borrowing from my parents is as old as Madison and the wear was beginning to show. The front left wheel would randomly get stuck and jerk the stroller right or left.

2I took Cole to the coin-op Mickey Mouse ride at the front of the store as Lynnette paid for the G-Ride. I sat him in the driver’s seat and hoped he wouldn’t fall out or smash his face against the steering wheel. He slowly grasped the wheel and slightly moved it left-to-right. Lynnette waved and said hello to Cole as I snapped this picture. Appallingly, Lynnette is already teaching Cole bad driving habits.

“Do you think he’ll freak out if we put money in?” Lynnette asked. Madison totally used to flip out. “DON’T PUT MONEY!” she’d shout at us as she sat atop whatever coin-op monstrosity she came across. Well, fifty cents and 4 seconds later, we had our answer. Yes. Yes, he will freak out. He didn’t have the core and arm strength to stabilize himself as the car pitched. Lynnette pulled him from the seat and they waved goodbye at Mickey. I forgot to tell you: Mickey is Cole’s best friend. Mickey Mouse Clubhouse stops Cole dead in his tracks. I don’t know about you, but personally, I can’t wait until I’m driving a real car and Cole and Avery request the Hot Dog Dance song on repeat. It’s only a matter of time now.

Leave a Reply

