iPad 2 Retires, Replaced by iPad Air 2

I always knew this day would come, but that knowledge didn’t make the finality of it all any easier to take.

1Years ago, the school issued iPads to teachers who applied for them. I think it might be the second iteration of the device, but I can’t be sure. I used it sparingly in the classroom for presentations illustrating literary devices. My favorite of these was an illustration of irony using The Doobie Brothers’ “What a Fool Believes”.

There were several times when I was told I would have to give the iPad up, but those directions changed a few days after being issued. Once the iOS upgrades began happening in earnest, the 16 GB memory couldn’t hold down the fort. The iOS and apps grew but my iPad never did. By the middle of last year the battery life was waning and I used it to watch wrestling and Netflix while I did the dishes or other menial tasks. It also helped me replace the innards of a toilet via YouTube. Good times.

2I was told last week that I would have to give the iPad up, so when I got home on Friday afternoon I asked Lynnette what we had planned for the weekend. “Well,” I said. I told her about the sad email. I alluded to some vague regret. “The only thing I want to do for sure is pick up a new iPad,” I told her.

The truth is, I’d been wanting to upgrade for some time, but couldn’t justify it as long as I still had the original and it still worked, no matter how slowly. “Why did dad get a new iPad?” Madison asked. Before I could answer, Lynnette said, “Because Daddy has to give the Ipad back to Damien and he can’t live his life without one anymore.” Hmm. Certainly there is some hyperbole in play there, but the underlying facts are mostly true.

My new iPad Air 2 (strangely, I haven’t named it yet) is so much faster than the old one. It’s got so much more memory room for activities. I was even able to reinstallĀ Knights of the Old Republic! I mean, I probably won’t be able to play it until the twins are 4 or 5, but still. It’s a nice option to have.

I completely reset the old iPad to its original state after I peeled it out of its case. When it restarted, the first word on the screen was “Hello”. I shut it off. The irony was too much. So…

Leave a Reply

