Dragonite Night

“I feel like something big is going to show up tonight,” I said to Madison as we ate dinner. As vague as that statement is, Madison always knows what I’m talking about. “Really? Why?” she asked. “I don’t know. I’ve just been seeing Dragonites all over the map today,” I said.

1The first Dragonite popped up on the map near a park in Mililani Town. “Can I make it here in 8 minutes?” I asked Lynnette as I showed her the map. “Just go!” she said. Avery was already asleep but Cole was still rolling around on the floor of the play area. I tossed on some clothes and left. I got to the park with about a minute to spare. I could tell where Dragonite spawned because of all the taillights along the side of the road. Dragonite showed up on my screen and I tapped him. “WHY DO YOU HATE ME? I ABANDONED MY FAMILY FOR YOU!” I screamed when I saw his CP. I caught him and did not feel super good about it. I drove home and sheepishly reported to Lynnette my new Dragonite’s CP. She laughed. I plopped down along side Cole and patted him to sleep. A few minutes later, I checked the map again, again Dragonite spawned in Mililani town  – this time a little past Walmart. “Mad, do you want to come?” I asked. “Nah, I’m already in my pajamas, dad,” she said.

2I arrived on the scene and was greeted by several cars haphazardly parked on either side of the road. Dragonite appeared. I parked the car then tapped on the plump orange dragon on my screen and he popped up with the ??? I turned the engine off. “This could be it,” I said. I was dreaming on a 2000+ CP Dragonite with Hyper Beam. I know that sounds incredibly dorky. Basically, I wanted the high trim Toyota Sienna with the  alloy rims and navigation system. So ANYWAY, Dragonite put up a fight. He broke out of a few Ultra Balls. He ate a few berries. Every time he burst out of that ball, I held my breath. I think if he ran and I saw that cloud of dust I would have screamed the kind of obscenities usually reserved for the Mets and Cowboys. Only the things you love can hurt you. But so, yeah, Dragonite decided he wanted to be on my team. When he was secured in the ball, the screen transitioned to this:

3I think I just sat there in the darkness of the van and smiled at my phone. Maybe I did this. Either way, Dragonite is my best friend now.

I don’t know how I got here. Again, I’m a 36 year old man and the thing that brings me the most joy is hunting down digital Pokemon on my phone. I used to be an athlete. I used to write poetry and short stories. Now all I want to do is sit in my car and wait for the next desirable Pokemon to make itself known, then drive to that location and make it mine.

I am still following the Mets’ post-season chase. I really hope they make it. But they’ve lost 3/5 of their rotation. How far can they really go? I watch the Cowboys every Sunday. Dak Prescott might be the truth, but that defense is still terrible. I read the Raw and Smackdown re-caps and watch the PPVs. I follow AJ Styles on Twitter and if no one is looking, I walk through my house with my back hunched over and my head lowered before stopping and yanking an invisible hood back, spreading my arms out, and mouthing “THEY DON’T WANT NONE!” But none of those things makes me as happy as hunting for Pokemon.

Leave a Reply

