Christmas 2016

I was scrolling through Instagram two hours ago and noticed a number of beautiful family shots taken by my friends and family. It dawned on me that we hadn’t taken a full family shot to commemorate this Christmas. Cole and Avery were napping and Lynnette and I were cleaning up the aftermath of Christmas. I just spent half-an-hour clipping tags and peeling stickers off of new clothing. I hear in some countries that can be a full-time job. Anyway, the trash has been taken out, the first load of laundry is in, and in an hour we’re going to heat up some leftovers for dinner.So what I’m trying to say is that we’re probably not going to get around to a full family picture today. It’s okay, though. I’ve got plenty of pictures.

12Just in case you needed further evidence that my kids are too young to get Christmas, I’ve procured some photo evidence. Cole thought that the yogurt-scented hair and body wash Madison scored for Christmas was the must-have gift of the season. He might be biased, though, because one of his all-time favorite hobbies is opening the lotion and Desitin tubes with his teeth and rubbing that stuff all over his face before anyone else finds out. Cheaper than collecting baseball cards or comics, so who am I to judge? For her part, Avery sampled all the flavors of Christmas wrapping and ribbons. I am not quite sure which was her favorite, but she did seem partial to skinny curly ribbon in red. She tore the bows off of every box she could like it was some kind of compulsion. One of my secret joys this season was looking over the large number of presents with small tears on the top and a bow haphazardly replaced somewhere nearby. It was akin to a tag which read “Gravy wuz hea”.

Anyway, here are some video clips of my family opening their gifts.

I didn’t have time (or the inclination, if we’re being honest) to wrap Lynnette’s gift. I hid it like the Knights Templar hid the remains of Mary Magdalene; it was in the van, then in the garage, then in my classroom, then in the Corolla.

Madison wasn’t subtle at all about what she wanted for Christmas. She scored the wand and some of the smaller toys she wanted. She also got a lot of nice clothes that she had no desire for at all. In fact, last night I started a “Clothes, clothes, clothes” chant as Madison began opening toys from my family. She looked me dead in the eyes and said “STOP.” It was hilarious.

We didn’t just buy Cole a Christmas gift, we bought him a best friend.

We got Avery a ride-on rocking horse, but no the surprise of no one, she wasn’t impressed. I can’t say for sure which gift she likes the best, but I can unequivocally say that she’s taste-tested every gift she received this year.

Merry Christmas, friends and family. Hoping for health and happiness for all of us in the year ahead.

Leave a Reply

