Cole and Avery at 15 Months

Today was chaos. Lynnette’s phone rang at 4 in the morning. Lynnette’s mom contracted whatever stomach bug has been going through our family. She wasn’t going to be able to watch the kids today. Lynnette had a flu clinic scheduled. She tried to call her replacement, but she couldn’t get in touch with her so early in the morning. “I don’t know if I’ll get back in time, but let me try,” I said.

I drove to Damien about 45 minutes earlier than I usually do to print out assignments. I went through the process of contacting all of my bosses. I tidied the place up a bit. I made it back to Mililani with enough time to pick up breakfast from McDonald’s. Lynnette was already dressed and ready for work. Madison was up and dressed. I would watch Cole and Avery until their doctor’s appointment in the afternoon. As Lynnette made her final preparations to leave, her replacement called and said she’d be able to cover Lynnette.

12It’s been a rough week for the twins. I actually forgot that yesterday was the 9th and didn’t realize it was the 10th until we left the house today. It’s just as well. The twins have runny noses and upset stomachs. I hope I’ll be able to snap “official” 15 month pictures of them some time this weekend. For now, this will have to do.

The trip to the doctors for their 15-month check up was fortuitous. We were able to get some advice about the twins’ stomachs. We’ve had to pivot to lactaid-free milk for the time being. We were told they can eat anything – just to observe how they react to the food. Avery, of course, has been operating under this assumption for quite some time already. Cole, though, is beginning to display the signs of growing into a picky eater like her older sister. “When Avery gets older, she and I are going to go on foodie dates,” Lynnette said, as if she thought Madison, Cole, Abby, and me would mind at all that we simply filled our bellies with a cornucopia of fast food options while she and Avery were out on a Yelp Quest/Fest. Because we won’t. Not at all.

34Avery currently weighs 19 pounds and stands at 2 feet, 5 inches tall. Her slightly older brother weighs 21 pounds and is 2 inches taller. “Is this her usual…bloat?” Avery’s doctor asked as he inspected her tummy area. “Yes,” I said. “It’s the only part of her that resembles me – everything else is Lynnette,” I said. Sad but true.

Avery needs to work on her speech. As of this moment, she only really utters one word consistently, and to the surprise of no one, that word is “mum-mum”. She babbles a lot and makes what I call “mouse noises”, but there aren’t to many words mixed in there. We hope she’ll start talking soon. It’s possible. She spent the last two or three months catching her brother up on the whole walking thing, maybe the speech will be the next big step. Cole’s got a bigger hurdle on the horizon, though.

The twins’s doctor suggested we try to get him off the binky. “Cold turkey?” Lynnette asked. “Well, there’s really no other way to do it,” the doctor said. If you recall, Lynnette opted against quitting LuLaRoe cold turkey, so we cannot blame her for being unfamiliar with the method. “Maybe start by hiding it, then only bringing it out at nap and bed times,” the doctor said. I looked at Cole. His finger was jammed into the space behind the nipple of his Binky. I guess he’s going to have to learn to self-soothe.

This is going to sound stupid, but sometimes I still can’t believe I have twin toddlers. Most days pass without incident, but this past week has been ridiculous. We’ve had to change diapers, sheets, and pillows at an alarming rate. I had forgotten how insane toddler sickness can be, and this time there are two of them. Thank God I have a Lynnette.

Leave a Reply

