The Worst Conversation I’ve Ever Heard is Proof that Madison is Lynnette 2.0

I was driving the van on Ward Avenue when it happened. The blinker ticked as I waited to make that left turn onto the street behind Straub and the HPD headquarters.

1

Li hing pineapple w/orange sorbet from Piggy Smalls

2

Vanilla bean gelato from Pa’ina Cafe

Madison looked at the hands painted along the wooden wall surrounding Thomas Square.

“Those hands say ‘welcome’,” Madison said.
Cole fussed. “That boy needs a fidget spinner,” Lynnette said.
“Huh?” Madison said.
“Huh?” Lynnette said.
“Huh?” Madison said.
“Nothing,” Lynnette said.

“OH MY GOD!” I said. Lynnette was already laughing.
“That was the worst conversation I’ve ever heard!” I said.
“Why, what?” Lynnette said through giggles.
“YOU GUYS ARE THE SAME PERSON BECAUSE NEITHER OF YOU LISTEN TO ANYONE BUT YOURSELVES!” I said.
“What?” Madison said.

Lynnette laughed. I would have thrown myself from the van if I could have. But nothing would have changed. Both Lynnette and Madison would have gone on eating their fancy desserts from their fancy eateries without even noticing. Until someone honked at them to get it moving.

Leave a Reply

