The Chill Summer Goes Bang!

Well, so much for that uneventful summer I hoped for.

2We got rear-ended in the Sienna this afternoon while driving home on the freeway. It happened before the lane closure as traffic slowed around the Middle Street area. I stopped, the car behind me stopped, but the car behind that one didn’t. It slammed into the car behind me and sent it straight into us. Everyone is OK. My neck hurts a little, but it is not terribly painful. I’ve already medicated with Advil and Coca-Cola. In the midday sun, it felt strange to watch cars on the other side of the barrier slow down to look at us. One guy shouted obscenities as he drove past us. It was surreal to be sure.

3The kids are alright. Cole and Avery were napping when the accident occurred. Cole was roused by the noise and collision, but luckily Madison had some french fries handy. Cole didn’t fuss the entire time. Avery didn’t fuss either, but that’s because she slept through the entire thing. Of course she did. To my surprise Madison didn’t panic or get overly excited in this, her first automobile accident. She remained calm, didn’t ask a billion questions, and most importantly, continued to feed Cole those fries. The police arrived, wrote up the report, then sent us on our way. I would like to thank them for their quick, courteous, and professional handling of our situation.

1It was a Jeep that got knocked into us and it left its mark. I haven’t bothered to open the back hatch because I don’t want to make things worse. The red wagon is back there and I have no idea how we’re going to get it out. I suspect we’ll lose the van for a few days when it comes time for repairs; that’s a bummer because we already lost 9 days of summer because we thought Madison became Mumplestilzkin. Still, things could have been a lot worse. They were a lot worse last summer. I’m grateful that everyone in our car and in the other two are fine. And, if there’s a single lining in all of this, it is the simple fact that I don’t have to look at that hideous Creighton license plate holder ever again.

Leave a Reply

